York Rite

This is possibly the oldest of all the Rites, and originally consists of only three grades, which are:

1. -The Entered Apprentice;

2. -The Fellowcraft, and

3. -The Master Mason.

The Rite in its purity no longer exists nowhere.

The form that is more approximate, is present in Freemasonry the Grand Lodge of Scotland, but the degree of the Master of the Grand Lodge of Scotland, is not the degree of the Master of the Rite of York.

In the United States it has been the almost universal custom to call the York Rite the Masonry that is practiced.

By using that denomination, the Rite is linked to the legend of York and the hypothesis that York was the cradle of English Masonry.

The Rite of York was the Rite that was probably organized or rather modified during the restoration in the year of 1717, and is most likely, that was practiced fifty years in the Grand Lodge of England (Ancient). It is composed of three symbolic degrees only, and the last, that is, the degree of Master, contains in itself the secrets that are transmitted in our days in the Royal Arch. This Rite was brought to France in all its purity in 1724, and later to America in a later period.

Towards the middle of the eighteenth century the continental masons, and at the end of it, the Americans began to superimpose on him those higher degrees, which, with the necessary mutilation of the third, have given rise to numerous other Rites.

Visitas / Visits: 1